View this PageEdit this PageAttachments to this PageHistory of this PageHomeRecent ChangesSearch the SwikiHelp Guide

Scratch Competition May 12, 2012

The 2012 Scratch competition winners are listed here

We require a registration first and then tell the students who have registered how to upload a link to their project on the Scratch website.
Please register at

See for the winners from last year (2011).

Entries will be due May 4th before midnight. Registration closes May 1st at midnight. The awards ceremony will take place on May 12, 2012 from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the College of Computing Building room 017 and 016. For directions see Directions to the College of Computing Building.

See for registrants and entries.

There will be one division for elementary school students (4th - 5th graders), one for middle school students, and one for high school students. Awards will be given for both individual and group projects (up to 3 people per group). Projects will be judged based on their appeal, creativity, originality, technical merit (number of scripts, using loops, conditionals, strings, lists, messages, variables), and how well they follow good programming practices (using broadcast and receive to break long scripts into shorter ones, adding comments, good names for sprites and messages, and putting actions on the appropriate sprite). There will be two categories of awards: animations and interactive games. The animations must be at least 15 seconds long and must be less than 2 minutes long. Interactive games can be submitted as well but a video (in Quicktime, WVM, or AVI format) showing someone playing the game (just the screen capture, we don't actually want to see the person playing the game) must be submitted with the game. The video of the person playing the game must be at least 15 seconds and less than 2 minutes long. You can use CamStudio or Camtasia to create the video (please output a movie in .mov, .avi, or .wvm format and do not upload the camproj file). All interactive games must also include instructions on how to play the game.

We will give a prize to at least one entry in each category (if we have at least 5 entries in the category). In addition we will also give out the following special awards: Most Creative, Best Comedy, Best Drama, Best Educational Game, Best Educational Animation, Best Dance, Best Simulation, Best use of Sound, Most Artistic, and Best Original Idea.

Judges: Laura Boullian, Sarah Saltiel, Haritha, Michelle

Link to this Page